Jolin Tsai Dominates: 2019 Golden Melody Awards Winner List


30th Golden Melody Awards honouring the best in the music industry were presented at a ceremony in Taipei Arena on Saturday. Touted as the most celebrated musical night of the year, music aficionados and enthusiasts geared up to witness the celebrations. Jolin Tsai won big with Album of the Year and Song of the Year, marking a new standard for pop music. Singer turned rapper Leo Wang was named Best Mandarin Male Singer, the first time it's secured by a hip-hop artist.

Album of the Year

  • Ugly Beauty - Jolin Tsai

Song of the Year

  • "Womxnly" - Jolin Tsai

Best Mandarin Album

  • Shi’s Journey - Shi Shi

Best Hokkien Album

  • Forgotten West - Sam Liao

Best Hakka Album

  • We Settled Here - Lo Sirong

Best Indigenous Album

  • Swasico - Yawai Mawlin

Music Video of the Year

  • "Slow" - Sunset Rollercoaster (Director: Namso, Youkim)

Composer of the Year

  • Eve Ai - "Forever Young" (Performed by Eve Ai)

Lyricist of the Year

  • Jonathan Lee - "Newly Written Old Song" (Performed by Jonathan Lee)

Arranger of the Year

  • Zun Shi An - "Styx" (Performed by Sam Liao)

Best Album Producer

  • Wang Shuang Jun - L.O.V.E. (Performed by Eason Chan)

Best Song Producer

  • Yu Jia Lun; Huang Xuan - "Urban Disease" (Performed by Yellow)

Best Mandarin Male Singer

  • Leo Wang - Wu Bing Singing, Yo Chin Soothing

Best Mandarin Female Singer

  • Sandy Lam - 0

Best Hokkien Male Singer

  • Ardor Huang - Warming a Pot of Youth to Drink

Best Hokkien Female Singer

  • Joey Chiang - Snail

Best Hakka Singer

  • Gina Yang (Ginascan) - Love for Granted

Best Indigenous Singer

  • Yawai Mawlin - Swasico

Band of the Year

  • CHTHONIC - Battlefields of Asura

Best Duo or Group

  • The Chairs - Lovely Sunday

Best New Artist

  • ØZI - ØZI: The Album

Best Instrumental Album

  • Lines & Stains - Tokyo Chuo-Line Feat. Minyen Hsieh

Best Instrumental Album Producer

  • Purdull - Black Bear Forest OST (Performed by Purdull)

Best Instrumental Composer

  • YuYing Hsu - "CHAPTER III: INDIA, ITALY AND I"(Performed by YuYing Hsu)

Best Album Package Designer

  • Huang Chia Hsien, Yang feng ming - Hold That Tiger

Best Vocal Recording Album

  • 0 (Han Wen Ni, Y.Lam, Derrick Sepnio, Chang Shilei, Li Zhuo,Recording Engineer; Brent Clark, Mixing Engineer; Ryan Smith, Mastering Engineer)

Best Instrumental Recording Album

  • The Journey (Dave Darlington, Recording Engineer; Dave Darlington, Mixing Engineer; Dave Darlington, Mastering Engineer)

Outstanding Contribution Award

  • Blacklist Studio

Jury Award

  • Joanna Wang