Flesh Juicer Emerge as Biggest Winners at 12th Golden Indie Music Awards


In the recent 12th Golden Indie Melody Awards (GIMA), Taiwanese hardcore band Flesh Juicer emerged as the biggest winners, taking home three major awards for "Best Album", "Best Band" and "Best Live Performance".

Held annually, GIMA celebrates the freedom and originality of Taiwanese musicians, and represents the next generation of the country's creative community. It also distinguishes itself from the earlier-held Golden Melody Awards by catering to the indie music scene in Taiwan, allowing for more recognition opportunities across the industry.

This year marks the first time that GIMA is held in Southern Taiwan, at Kaohsiung Music Centre. This signifies the efforts of the organizers to nurture and cultivate music interest within the region.

This year's GIMA saw a total of 3,608 entries, resulting in a final 111 nominated works vying for 21 awards.

Accepting the awards during the ceremony held on November 6, Flesh Juicer frontman Gigo thanked his parents and wife, the team behind their album Golden Taizi Bro, as well as their manager.

He added: "Music is a journey where each song written is equal to one great time. Ten songs written is non-stop fun! It is our great fortune to be able to stand here and speak to all of you."

Flesh Juicer was also the most nominated act in this year's GIMA, coming in with five nominations. The second most nominated artist was R&B singer-songwriter and bassist LINION, with four nominations. Among the four nominations, he won the Best R&B Album award for his album Leisurely. Other artists who followed closely with three nominations, including Sunset Rollercoaster, Shi Shi and rapper ØZI.

The GIMA awards are voted on by jury of music creators and industry professionals, chaired by indigenous singer ABAO this year. The aboriginal musician is also a past winner of the GIMA awards herself, and continued her streak this year as a featured act on the single 'zaljum' alongside RFU and Ń7ä, which clinched the award for Best Electronic Song.

Full Award Winners List for 12th Golden Indie Music Awards


Best Album
Golden Taizi Bro - Flesh Juicer (produced by Matt Hsu)

Best Band
Flesh Juicer - Golden Taizi Bro

Best Singer-Songwriter
YELLOW - Yellow Fiction

Best New Artist
wannasleep - Naked Grouse

Best Instrumentalist
Wu Cheng Chun - Water Snowflake Goes to Market (Bongo, Water Drum, Congas, Tanggu, Erhu)
David Chen - Island Catch (Vocal, Resonator Guitar, 12-String Guitar, Banjo)
Toshihiro Wakaike - (Tabla and Esraj)

Best Live Performance
Golden Taizi Bro - Flesh Juicer

Best Asian Creative Artist
Nodey - 🙂


Best Rock Album
Bad Times, Good Times - Sorry Youth

Best Rock Song
“Desire” - Shikin Rollin (from the Green EP)

Best Folk Album
Island Catch - Fade to Blue

Best Folk Song
“How Are You, My Dear” - Syaman Macinanao (from the How Are You, My Dear album)

Best Hip Hop Album
Thanks <3 - Chunyan

Best Hip Hop Song
“88BARS”- Kumachan (from the 88BARS single)

Best Electronic Album
Black & Toughness - OVDS

Best Electronic Song
“zaljum” (feat. ABAO & R.fu) - Ń7ä (from the zaljum single)

Best Jazz Album
The 13th Heron - YenTing Lo

Best Jazz Song
“The Path” - Chien Chien Lu (from the The Path album)

Best R&B Album
Leisurely - LINION

Best R&B Song
“Post-Monologue” - YELLOW (from the Yellow Fiction album)

Best Alternative Pop Album
Back to the Roots - Matzka

Best Alternative Pop Song
“Desert, Roses and Camel” - Yile Lin (from the Desert, Roses and Camel single)

Outstanding Contribution Award
Wu Wu-chang

Jury Prize
Panai - Love, and yet...