2020 Golden Melody Awards: The Full List of Winners


Delayed from the original June date due to Covid-19, the 31th Golden Melody Awards (GMA) has finally wrapped, with chanteuse ABAO's all-Paiwan chin-up album kinakaian triumphing over 3 categories -- Album of the Year, Best Indigenous Album, and Song of the Year. Last year's Jury Award honoree Joanna Wang scooped the Best Madarin Album. Having been in the group of most recognizable names throughout mainstream and underground over a decade, waa wei and Wu Qing Feng undisputedly bagged their first ever GMA trophies respectively this year for their vocal performances. Scouted by Mandopop queen aMEI, multi talented prodigy Chih Siou picked up the gong for Best New Artist after a stiff competition with fellow nominees.

The 2020 Annual Golden Melody Awards ceremony took place on October 3 at Taipei Music Center.

Album of the Year

  • kinakaian - ABAO

Song of the Year

  • "Thank You" - ABAO

Best Mandarin Album

  • Love is Calling Me - Joanna Wang

Best Hokkien Album

  • Tsong-Hông - Loh Tsui Kweh Commune

Best Hakka Album

  • The Ship of Fools - Misa

Best Indigenous Album

  • kinakaian - ABAO

Music Video of the Year

  • "Love" - Accusefive (Director: Chen-Hao Yin)

Composer of the Year

  • Jen Jen - "The Wedding" (Performed by Jen Jen; Luantan Ascent)

Lyricist of the Year

  • Hsieh Ming-Yo - "Road" (Performed by Hsieh Ming-Yo)

Arranger of the Year

  • KOBUDO - "Ikusa" (Performed by Peggy Hsu)

Best Album Producer

  • Sandee Chan - Juvenile A (Performed by Sandee Chan)

Best Song Producer

  • Hsieh Ming-Yo - "Road" (Performed by Hsieh Ming-Yo)

Best Mandarin Male Singer

  • Wu Qing Feng - Spaceman

Best Mandarin Female Singer

  • waa wei - Hidden, Not Forgotten

Best Hokkien Male Singer

  • Ming-Yuan Su - We All Have Good Nature

Best Hokkien Female Singer

  • Angel Chu - Touch a Star

Best Hakka Singer

  • Misa - The Ship of Fools

Best Indigenous Singer


Band of the Year

  • Fire Ex. - Stand Up Like A Taiwanese

Best Duo or Group

  • Chick en Chicks - Beat Maker

Best New Artist

  • Chih Siou - Elephant in the Room

Best Instrumental Album

  • Ciao Bella - Sam Su; Doris Lin; Mike Tseng

Best Instrumental Album Producer

  • Non-Confined Space - Flow, Gesture, and Spaces (Performed by Non-Confined Space)

Best Instrumental Composer

  • Ken Ohtake - "Okinawa" (Performed by Ken Ohtake)

Best Album Package Designer

  • Timonium Lake - Awakening

Best Vocal Recording Album

  • The Younger Me (Wilson Teng, Zach Hung, Recording Engineer; Jerry Lin, Keller Wang, Mixing Engineer; Sun Chung Shu, Mastering Engineer)

Best Instrumental Recording Album

  • Initial Value (Li Yuesong, David Wang, Recording Engineer; Baby Chung, Mixing Engineer; Bernie Grundman, Mastering Engineer)

Jury Award

  • G.E.M. - "City Zoo"

Outstanding Contribution Award

  • Rich Huang