2020 Golden Indie Music Awards: See All The Winners


Now in its 11th year, Golden Indie Music Awards (GIMA) has been the testament to the fertility of homegrown scene stalwarts and young creatives. This year’s ceremony was held on 31st October 2020 at Taipei Music Center and the results are in.

Carving out a Mando R&B/hip hop niche with his silky vocals and searing talent, one-man army J.Sheon led the pack by bagging Best Hip Hop Song, Best R&B Album, and Best R&B song whilst IMA-winning metalcore band FUTURE AFTER A SECOND also received 3 nods in rock categories. Fast forward from her all-Paiwan kinakaian breakout, Best Album winner ABAO has genuinely built the ABAO-phenom on the surging popularity of this boundary-breaking album. Teaming up with several out-of-the-box independent musicians restlessly, Best New Artist 9m88 has racked up millions of streams with her jazz background over omnivorous musical tastes. Emerging from the viral track "Dat $tick", Indonesia-born US-based rapper Rich Brian picked up the first Asian Original Music trophy by his personal stories-tied album The Sailor. The elusive duo Alex Zhang Hungtai (the man behind Dirty Beaches) & Tseng Kuo Hung (best known as the leader of Sunset Rollercoaster)'s album LONGONE scored Jury Award with raw, conceptual and experimental approaches.


Best Album

kinakaian - ABAO

Best Band


Best Singer-Songwriter

Peggy Hsu

Best New Artist


Best Musician

Nicky Li

Min Yen Hsieh

Ohtake Ken

Best Live Performance

Leo Wang 2019 Simple Urban - Leo Wang

Asian Original Music 

The Sailor - Rich Brian (Republic of Indonesia)


Best Rock Album

The Art of Embarrassment - Wayne's So Sad

Best Rock Song


Best Alternative Pop Album

Portal - Zani

Best Alternative Pop Song

"24 Years Old of You" - I Mean Us

Best Hip Hop Album

Liars Like Us - Chang Wu

Best Hip Hop Song

"RAZOR" - J.Sheon

Best R&B Album

The Alley - J.Sheon

Best R&B Song

"Ballad" - J.Sheon

Best Folk Album

The Ship of Fools - Misa

Best Folk Song

"Alian" - BOXING & Matzka

Best Electronic Album

Panorama - Ń7ä

Best Electronic Song

"Iridescent Vision Feat. Taj Raiden" - Sonia Calico

Best Jazz Album

Epiphyllum - Yen Ting Lo

Best Jazz Song

"The 5 Mins in Between" - Yen Ting Lo


Jury Award

LONGONE - Alex Zhang Hungtai & Tseng Kuo Hung

Outstanding Contribution Award

Yu Jing Peng & Witch House